I have definitely seen the same player events happen multiple times in a single game... and I kinda remember that being true of the original, too.
So I think rule one, "... cannot have occurred before, to anyone." actually needs "... this turn." appended.
Perhaps - just going by the letter of the document at this point - although I'm sure I can ask Kroah what he meant by that statement. If someone can confirm they saw (in the C64 or Atari version) the same player event happen multiple times in a game, and whether a player could encounter the same event twice, please reply.
I am playing an Atari emu game, on round 5, only I produced 2 food units, cpus none and the store had none. On round 6, EACH (3) of the cpus got the package (and I had to clean my solar collectors

). I don't remember this happening ever before.